Health and Wellness

Print

The Activity Center promotes healthful living by offering numerous health and wellness workshops and lectures. Upcoming  health and wellness programs include the following:

 

Health and Wellness Programs

"Ask the Nurse" - Biola University  Wednesdays (9/12-12/12) 8:30 a.m. - 12 p.m. 
"Listening Heart" - Straight Talk Thursdays 10:30 - 11:30 a.m.
AARP "Mature Driver" - Full Course September 13 &14 9 a.m. - 1 p.m.
  November 15 & 16 9 a.m. - 1 p.m.
 AARP "Mature Driver" - Renewal Course September 6 9 a.m. - 2 p.m. 
  November 8 9 a.m. - 2 p.m. 

 

Health and Wellness Workshops and Lectures

Free Dental Screening  10-11 a.m. Wednesday, August 8  New Age Dental  
Parkinson's and Movement Disorders 10-11 a.m. Thursday, August 9 Brookdale Central Whittier  
Doc Talk 10-11 a.m. Wednesday, August 15 Apple Care
Behavioral Health  10-11 a.m. Wednesday, August 22 CareMore
Healthy Recipes 10-11 a.m. Wednesday,  August 29 Anthem, Inc. 
       
Memory Care 10-11 a.m. Wednesday, September 5 Whittier Place Senior Living 
5 Sneaky Causes of Weight Gain  10-11 a.m. Friday, September 7 Humana 
Community Health Fair 9 a.m. - 12 p.m. Wednesday, September 12 City of La Mirada
Tech 101 10-11 a.m. Wednesday, September 19 Humana 
Digital Databases 10-11 a.m. Wednesday, September 26 Los Angeles County Library 
       
Clear Captions 10-11 a.m. Wednesday, October 3 Clear Captions
Healthy Eating  10-11 a.m. Wednesday, October 10 Anthem, Inc. 
Dental Screening 10-11 a.m. Wednesday, October 10 New Age Dental 
Using Technology to Stay Connected  10-11 a.m. Friday, October 12 Humana
     
How to Read Rx 10-11 a.m. Thursday, November 1  Anthem, Inc. 
La Mirada Transit  10-11 a.m. Thursday, November 8 La Mirada Transit 
Clear Captions 10-11 a.m. Thursday, November 15 Clear Captions 
     


For more information, contact the Activity Center at (562) 902-3160.